School Council

The Cockburn John Charles Academy School Council is a powerful body that is consulted on many aspects of our school and plays a vital role in our journey – ‘Transformation to Excellence’. 

School Council Constitution 2023-24

Aims Of the School Council

The aim of the School council is to provide a forum for the discussion by students’ representatives of issues raised by students or staff which affect the life of the academy. The school council allows views to be expressed and heard and creates a further opportunity for effective communication within the academy and for appropriate actions to be taken, when necessary.

Student Elections and Representation

In September of each year, each tutor group will elect two representatives, preferably one male and one female. Form tutors will oversee elections and pass on the name of representatives to the Learning Manager. The chosen Tutor Group Representatives will attend year team meetings (one per half term) with their Learning Manager who will then elect two year group representatives (preferably one male and one female) overseen by the LM. Once elected, School council members will remain in office for one year and attend one meeting each half term.

Election of Officers

All members of the School Council will be eligible for nomination and election as an officer. Elections will take place at the first meeting of the year. Officers elected will be:

  • Chairperson
  • Vice Chairperson
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer

(Please note, some of these responsibilities can be shared)

Staff and Governor Representation

Meetings of the School Council will be attended by the Learning Manager and a member of the Senior Leadership Team. Other members of staff may be invited to attend individual meetings to assist with the discussion of specific agenda items.

Governors may also nominate a representative to attend School Council meetings.

Communication between Council Representatives and Tutor groups
Before each year group council meeting, the tutor representatives will collect in the “suggestion” book from the form tutor. Suggestions can be made throughout the year and specifically during the week before the year group council meeting. This discussion will be lead by the tutor group representatives and the form tutor. The tutor representatives will take these discussion ideas to the Year Group council meeting and keep minutes of these meetings.

Before each School Council meeting the two year group representatives should meet with their LM to agree the minutes from their meeting so that they can be discussed at the meeting of the full School Council.

Timing and Organisation of School Council Meetings

The School Council dates will be published at the beginning of the academic year. A meeting will take place be between the Chairperson and the Head of School at least one week before the Year Council meetings to discuss the agenda. The agenda will be published by the secretary as soon as possible after this meeting. The LM will confirm the meeting time/place for the year group council meeting and will confirm the meeting time/place for the School Council meetings.

The chairperson will be expected to run the meeting to the agreed agenda. Matters brought up at the meeting that are not on the agenda may be scheduled for a future meeting at the discretion of the chair. No individuals, staff or students may be discussed in School Council meetings without their permission in writing in advance.

On occasions where a member of the School Council cannot attend a meeting, they should organise a suitable replacement to attend on their behalf. Minutes of the meeting should be taken by the secretary during the meeting and presented in draft to the Chairperson and Head of School for approval. Once approved, they should be distributed to the following:

  • Senior Leadership team
  • Learning Manager
  • Tutor Group Representatives
  • Governor Representative
  • Chair of Governors
  • Staff Representative